Southbank Undercroft

I was schlepping down by the Southbank Centre the other day and did what I always do – stop for a few moments to watch the boarders and BMXers. People have been using the undercroft as a place to hangout and do stuff for decades. There is a rich urban and history attached to the space and British skateboarding. John Crace has written a nice piece about it in the Guardian.

Growing up in the 1980s, skateboarding, BMXing and their associated cultural touch points were as much a part of my youth as LEGO and Star Wars. I never skated at the undercroft and have not been on a board for years but I enjoy those minutes lingering watching and soaking up the vibe.

The Southbank Centre has impressive plans to redevelop the site and have taken into account the needs of the community of folk who use the undercroft.  The problem is they don’t seem to have realised the cultural and historical significance of a space that has been created and evolved of the years by its users.

You can discover more about the plans, the response of the skaters and if minded to do so sign the petition against moving the skate park.

Anyway, here is a picture I took while strolling past.